The 2017 CFDA Awards Nominees Include Rick Owens and Virgil Abloh

By March 24, 2017Fashion News

A Lifetime Of Fashion For Rick Owens.

The Council of Fashion Designers of America will be hosting the annual CFDA Awards, one of the most prestigious fashion awards ceremonies, in June. The awards honour designers of womenswear, menswear, accessories as well as best dress, journalism, lifetime achievement and more.

This year, Rick Owens will receive the Geoffrey Beene Lifetime Achievement Award, with Virgil Abloh nominated for Accessories Designer Of The Year and Raf Simons nominated in both the Womenswear and Menswear categories.

Check out the full list of nominees below.

Womenswear Designer of the Year:

Joseph Altuzarra, Altuzarra
Raf Simons, Calvin Klein
Marc Jacobs
Jack McCollough and Lazaro Hernandez, Proenza Schouler
Ashley and Mary-Kate Olsen, The Row

Menswear Designer of the Year:

Raf Simons, Calvin Klein
Robert Geller
Thom Browne
Tim Coppens
Todd Snyder

Accessories Designer of the Year:

Stuart Vevers, Coach
Irene Neuwirth
Rachel Mansur and Floriana Gavriel, Mansur Gavriel
Paul Andrew
Ashley and Mary-Kate Olsen, The Row
Laura Vassar Brock and Kristopher Brock, Brock Collection
Gabriela Hearst
Laura Kim and Fernando Garcia, Monse
Virgil Abloh, Off-White
Sander Lak, Sies Marjan

Swarovski Award for Positive Change:

Kenneth Cole

Geoffrey Beene Lifetime Achievement Award:

Rick Owens

Founder’s Award:

Pat McGrath

International Award:

Demna Gvasalia, Vetements and Balenciaga

Board of Directors’ Tribute:

Cecile Richards, Gloria Steinem, and Janelle Monáe

Fashion Icon Award:

Franca Sozzani

Leave a Reply

2 × four =

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.